Objectivism Online Forum

General, Introductory Physics

Rate this topic

Cole

I'm interested in learning about physics. Since I have very little knowledge on the subject currently, I'd like to find a good general, introductory explaination. I would want for this source to be rational (doesn't contradict Objectivist metaphysics).

Does anybody know about specifics to Leonard Peikoff and/or David Harriman's take on the subject? Do they hold any beliefs that contradict commonly-accepted views among physicists?

I understand that most (if not all) physicists hold it to be undeniably true that the universe is expanding. This seems to contradict Objectivist metaphysics, and the idea that the universe is eternal. Also, Ayn Rand denied that "infinity" is a metaphysically possible scenario. However, I can't comprehend there being a limit to physical space in the universe. I also can't comprehend physical space being infinite and therefore unmeasurable. Can anybody help clear up my confusion on this issue?

I think these questions have been dealt with before here and in a better way than I think I can contribute, but I'll tell you what my own understanding is anyway.