Objectivism Online Forum

Thomist Versus Objectivist Metaphysics.

Rate this topic

dark_unicorn

I am a former student of the Dominican order, as some here already know, and an advocate of a modified version of Thomism. Like Objectivism, this philosophical/theological viewpoint draws a good deal of inspiration from Aristotle, but there are some notable differences in most of the 5 branches of philosophy that are obviously noteworthy. As someone who has also studied Objectivism, particularly it's Epistemology and how it applies to education, I have also been a bit influenced by it though clearly the topic of debate here is one area where I do not agree with the philosophy.

The question up for discussion is "The existence of God" in the context of metaphysics and epistemology. Does God exist or not, and what are the proofs that we can reference? As this debate was prompted by an off-topic discussion in another forum, I will make my claim by answering the last post on that discussion by MisterSwig, whom may wish to engage in this debate, although I am interested in getting any and every view on this. His post reads:

You're operating upon the false assumption that the universe has a source.

1. "Universe" is merely a name for the imagined sum or collection of every individual thing that exists. It is not an actual thing in reality that has a source. It is a name for the collection of every thing that exists--stars, planets, comets, moons, animals, people, etc. These are the things which we lump together under the concept "existents" and collectively call "the universe." It's a difficult concept to grasp, but it is similar to the concept "society." Society is not something that exists in reality as an individual thing. It designates a collection of things--people. Likewise, universe designates a collection of things--every existent that exists.