Objectivism Online Forum

Greatness Of Ayn Rand

Rate this topic

visaplace

Not much has been said here about Ayn Rand's amazing achievements in philosophy. She is the Thomas Edison of philosophy. Her discoveries are remarkable. I have been a student of Objectivism since 1988 and I am still amazed at her accomplishments as a philosopher and novelist. One of the rewarads of understanding Objectivism is the admiration of the woman who discovered it. I am not a scientist so I cannot fully appreciate the greatness of someone like Thomas Edison despite the fact that I enjoy the benefits of his discoveries on a daily basis. With Ayn Rand, however, having a solid grasp of her ideas--despite the fact that they are not widely known and therefore not practiced in our culture--I get the benefit of experiencing intense admiration for another human being. Not only has she discovered true ideas in philosophy, she has expressed them though remarkable works of fiction. 15 years after reading Atlas for the first time, I still sit here in awe of Ayn Rand. Admiration of this nature is very personal and enjoyable even though I have never met her.

It need not be stated.

It need not be stated, but I for one am glad that it was.

It is implicit in the very fact that this forum even exists!

So then, I need not tell my wife just how much I love her because that is implicit in the fact of staying married? Tom, the act of making some things explicit is a way of objectifying what we feel. I think we should acknowledge and applaud visaplace's expression of tribute to Ayn Rand, not tell him he need not have done it.

It's just such an obvious fact to me that it was like saying, "Ayn Rand wrote Atlas Shrugged, why doesn't anybody create a thread and explicity state that?" I am sure almost all of us are in awe of Ayn Rand. But, yes, I agree, we do need to be explicit about certain obvious facts once in a while.

Tom

It needs to be stated and often. Shout it from the roof tops.