Objectivism Online Forum

Three debatable questions

Rate this topic

Hi. I am new to Objectivism and like to be armed with information. Please consider the following and answer rationally.

Private Property

What are the origins of private property? How is private property obtained? What about scarcity? (ie if there is only one oil field remaining and it is on unclaimed land, who can lay claim to it, and how?) Who defines arbitrary geographical borders? If a new continent is discovered and several boat-loads of people migrate there, what's to keep someone from claiming the entire continent or a large portion of it for himself?

Market Failure

Is there such thing as market failure and how/why?

New Deal

Didn't Roosevelt's New Deal end the Great Depression in the United States? If 1933 was the lowest point of the Depression, how can one argue (as I was taught in school) WW2 was responsible for ending the Depression? And, even if WW2 helped, isn't war itself an ultra massive Keynesian stimulus on the economy (federal spending as a percentage of GDP tripled)? Thus, wouldn't it be better to do the same now, except on public works and infrastructure instead of warfare? As far as the recession of 1937, the statist would argue that clearly this was only because the conservative coalition forced FDR to suspend New Deal policies temporarily.

New Deal

Didn't Roosevelt's New Deal end the Great Depression in the United States? If 1933 was the lowest point of the Depression, how can one argue (as I was taught in school) WW2 was responsible for ending the Depression?