Objectivism Online Forum

'Ex-Objectivists'

Rate this topic

Considering I'm fairly new to Objectivism, I've never really encountered any ex-'Objectivists' in my time - that is, until a couple of days ago. I was discussing Australian politics on a forum, and this self-proclaimed ex-Objectivist starts to debate with me. It really was an eye-opening experience that confirmed what sort of complete mis-understandings exist regarding this philosophy. If anyone is interested, the URL is: http://forums.capitolrecords.com/cgi-bin/u...=3;t=019407;p=1 (He comes in at page 2).

So has anyone else had bad experiences with these types?

yeah, i know one pretty well. reverted to christianity. something like that. he said God talked to him. I'll go with that. I haven't heard anything yet, though. What's really interesting is how right Rand was on how religious conservatives correllate a free market and society to the roots of religion. I could go on and on about that specific conversation, but that's that at face value...

I never understood how someone could compromise the realm of ideas for such muddled emotional premises. Judging by his closing remarks though, I see him as a social parasite- someone who sees a ladder to be climbed. That I guess is the only supposed benefit to be gained from such behavior. I'm sure he will find condolence in the slimy embrace of those just as inept in living as him.

People like that were never Objectivists to begin with. They read some of Miss Rand's books, applied the label as if they had found some new "clique" and then dropped that label when the next wind blew westward. You find these people in any ideological movement but they're all social metaphysicists.

To quote Undan, on that other forum, "I used be an objectivist, even without having read any of Ayn Rand's stuff. It was when I was a self-loathing, alcoholic pre-goth."

He was ever an Objectivist exactly as much as the invisible unicorn on my roof.