Objectivism Online Forum

Ayn Rand's Derivation of Ought from Is

Rate this topic

neverborn

I'm fairly new to the study of Objectivism, and in another forum, someone has copy/pasted a large article with "four objections to Rand's objectivism", just to snipe at me from earlier. Anyone out there that could offer me some help as to rebuttals? I'm going to post my own, but I will definitely accept suggestions =)

The article is: http://www.daviddfriedman.com/Libertarian/...ht_From_Is.html

• Replies 100
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm fairly new to the study of Objectivism, and in another forum, someone has copy/pasted a large article with "four objections to Rand's objectivism", just to snipe at me from earlier. Anyone out there that could offer me some help as to rebuttals? I'm going to post my own, but I will definitely accept suggestions =)

Well, first of all, you might want to ask him why he can't spell.
I have been arguing that Rand's drivation of oughts, if consistently applied, leads to conclusions that few Objectivists would accept, and that Objectivists should therefor reexamine its logic with a more critical eye.
B)

The claim here, quite clearly, is that living things other than human beings automatically act for their own survival.
This is false. The claim is that human beings do not necessarily act for their own survival. i.e. They have a choice.
A male mantis, for example, mates, even though the final step of the process consists of being eaten by the female.
So what? What does a praying mantis have to do with Objectivism? The point Rand was making is that "Man is a being of volitional conciousness." Which this person would know if he had actually read more than a few sentences of Atlas Shrugged. The praying mantis does what it does automatically, even if it is not for its own survival.