Objectivism Online Forum

New to forum and Objectivism

Rate this topic

Greetings one and all. After a couple of days of reading through what is perhaps the most intelligent dialog I've read in quite some time on this forum, I thought I would introduce myself.

I am a first year dental student living in Kansas City, with my wife and 3 year old daughter. This past summer I read several Ayn Rand novels and non-fiction and something about this philosophy struck a central nerve with me. The past few years, I have been struggling without a central philosophy, with little guiding my daily actions.

I've been working though objectivism to try to become a better human, but am struggling with many of the steps.

My first question I have to the resident objectivistsm is one regarding life in public service. Ever since I started becoming interested in the health care field, I have been bombarded with the 'selfless' service requirements of the health field. My question is, how am I as, as a person supposedly 'devoted' to the selfless service of medicine, how do I deal with the social stigma of being an egoist in overwhelmingly altruistic career field.

I feel like I'm ranting, but I'm only beginning in this field, so please bear with me.

Welcome to OO.net

..., I have been bombarded with the 'selfless' service requirements of the health field. My question is, how am I as, as a person supposedly 'devoted' to the selfless service of medicine, how do I deal with the social stigma of being an egoist in overwhelmingly altruistic career field.