Objectivism Online Forum

How does one go about identifying desires through a process of reason?

Rate this topic

Hi, I've been lurking on these forums for a past few weeks while reading "The Virtue of Selfishness" slowly and trying to process the information presented and how it fits with my current views. I am new to Objectivism, "The Virtue of Selfishness" being my first text on the subject. The only other book I've read by Ayn Rand is "Anthem" (several years ago as required high school reading).

First the passages from "The 'Conflicts' of Mens Interests" that made me think of this question:

A man's "interests" depend on the kind of goals he chooses to pursue, his choice of goals depends on his desires, his desires depend on his values—and, for a rational man, his values depend on the judgement of his mind.
Desires (or feelings or emotions or whims) are not tools of cognition; they are not a valid standard of value, nor a valid criterion of man's interests.

[A man] chooses and/or identifies his desires by a process of reason, and he does not act to achieve a deseire until and unless he is able rationally to validate it in the full context of his knowledge and of his other values and goals.

What I'm comfused about is:

1. how does one go about identifying desires through a process of reason?
  2. how does one find the "rational" reason to continue doing an activity that makes you feel happy/fulfilled if you cannot use emotion as a valid basis for your interests/values?
  3. If you cannot put a reason for doing an activity into words, does this make continueing the activity "irrational?"

1) If desires are NOT tools of cognition, how can goals be dependent on desires? What is the point of identifying desires with reason if desires depend on a man's values but at the same time are NOT a valid standard of value? I'm confused about how one finds whatever it is they desire through reason. What type of thought process is this?