Objectivism Online Forum

Questions on the history of altruism

Rate this topic

humptydumpty

I would like to know the history of altruism. Did it begin with Jesus, or much earlier?

I don't have an extensive knowledge of the early philosophers, but I know questions such as "What is the good life" and "How should a man live his life" were being asked. Then, it seems that altruism hit the scene and ever since it's been pretty much accepted by everyone that a moral man will live for others. (If I'm wrong, feel free to inform me or fill in some gaps)

Was there anyone back in ancient times arguing for self-interest? I want to know how the altruist morality has been able to dominate for so long unchallenged and undebatable.

Also, does it go back farther than society? What was morality like before people entered society?

Auguste Comte is your man, born 1798, died 1857. A French philosopher credited for creating Positivism. I will admit, I am no expert on him, but he had a considerable influence on 19th century European thinking. He coined the term altruism.

However, you are right that the ancients had systems of ethics with very deep roots. Most ancient people had some sort of omnipotent force, god(s), for lack of a better term, holding their terms of morality over them. Actually, Jesus did not originate the "golden rule," and again, I don't know from whom he "borrowed" it.

Guys like Comte came along at a time when gods and other superstitions were on their way out of intellectual circles. So, philosophers developed texts with explicit reasons for men to sacrifice for each other.

Ayn Rand was asked about it once, in a Q&A session.  I don't remember which it was but it's freely available online. 

She said that the earliest reference to altruism that she could find was from the works of Plato- except that Plato picked the idea up from a group of cultists who had travelled all the way from somewhere in Asia.