Objectivism Online Forum

NYC Transit Union Strike

Rate this topic

JDK

I was hoping to hear an Objectivist's view on the NYC transit union strike. I am new to the philosophy and was hoping to get some insight into your views.

Are all union's immoral? If not, what makes one immoral?

It seems the workers are in a bad spot. You have this union that is controlling the workers actions and a city trying to force the worker's back.

Can the workers break line and just go back to work and just tell the union to go away? If they did this I believe they would lose their pension along with any other benefits the union provided.

If a worker woke up this morning fully enlightened in O'ism, what would he/she do?

Thanks for your insight.

Are all union's immoral? If not, what makes one immoral?

Welcome to the site. Please know that I do not speak for Objectivism. These are only my own views.

In an society governed by objective law, all unions are not immoral. There is nothing wrong per se with joining a voluntary organization. Whether a specific union was immoral would depend on its specific policies, reasons for forming, etc. In today's society, it's a much more difficult question because unions are forced down many employers' throats. (Find the National Labor Relations Act and peruse it.)

Basically, you've got two issues. A union is immoral if it uses force against an employer. If it does not use force, it could still be immoral because of bad philosophy. As to the particulars of the NYC situation, I don't know, but I'm sure you'll get plenty of insight from others on this board.

Some updates on this:

CNBC just showed a clip from a press-conference by the NY Transit Workers Union. The union representative said that the main sticking point was: pensions. Not even that they could not reach an agreement about pensions. Their demand is that they do not want to discuss it. He said: if the mayor and his team agree not to mention pensions, the workers will go back to work.