Objectivism Online Forum

Is The Mind Deterministic?

Rate this topic

DrBaltar

*** Moderator's note: This is a debate thread, between DrBaltar and EC ***

*** Please (other members) do not post within this thread while the debate is in progress ***

I was participating in a discussion in "On the question of free-will vs. determinism" when it was decided that a debate would be a better forum for this discussion. I recently started dabbling in philosophy, and found that Objectivism seemed to be a pretty close match to my personal beliefs. I have not read Ayn Rand's books, but I intend to. The discussion in free-will vs. determinism brought up one misunderstanding I had about Objectivism. I am a rational minded person. I arrive at my conclusions based on what I determine to be reasonable arguments along with observations gleaned through my senses of the real world (the Objectivist epistemology). I have a masters in physics. I am also an atheist - and therefore reject any supernatural explaination of phenomenon. Based on my reasoning I concluded that the human mind is deterministic. Since we are not aware of every concievable factor influencing our brains, and since the brain cannot sense itself like we can sense our bodies, we have the impression of free-will.

However, this quote from the Ayn Rand Institute website clearly states her position:

Human Nature