Objectivism Online Forum

my essay on the importance of history

Rate this topic

The Wrath

I'm no history expert, but I have recently been astounded by the ignorance of certain people that I know. People who can't tell me the two sides of the American Civil War, who the leader of the Nazi party was, or on what continent you can find France.

Some people say history doesn't matter. I think history is the most important subject that can be taught in school, yet so many major universities don't require it. Even middle and high schools only teach a ridiculously dumbed-down pseudo-history. They teach concrete facts..."this happend on such-and-such date," "this man invente this gizmo." No one teaches ideas anymore. School children are taught when the Declaration of Independence was signed and when the Constitution was drafted. How many college graduates can tell you the ideas behind the Declaration of Independence? How many can tell you what vital purposes are served by the 9th and 10th Amendments to the Constitution, a purpose that is completely ignored by our own government today?

History is the ultimate moral lesson. The morals of history are not written by an author with a good imagination, like the morals you find in a fictional book. They are brought about by real life and death decisions. History is philosophy teaching by example. It shows us the consequences of man's actions.