Objectivism Online Forum

Introduction

Rate this topic

I am a frustrated 45,000 plus post RichardDawkins/ RatSkep philosophy addict. Any argument I attempt on anything ends up in a convoluted self-destroying loop of solipsism and misreadings of Hume and Descartes skepticism. I prefer very simple models with clear and certain propositions first, prior to extension to homologs in the more complex domains. I am working on minimal metaphysical models of cognition and things such as identity. I have developed a couple of simplistic tools that I think have great use in rational discussions. I have no idea whether it be idiocy, madness, or something good. 

I am a software artist by trade but have spent 8 years in serious study of neuroscience from molecular biology to cognition by way of detailed brain anatomy. I own and peruse over 1300 books on logic, science, and philosophy. My philosophy education is 'coming along'. 

It will be easy for people who read this to recognize my SpeedOfSound handle on those 'other' forums so I may as well spit that out. My hope is to have discussions in philosophy here that actually progress. 

Mostly, at first, I will be a listener and a humble occasional commenter. 

A note on minimal metaphysical models. My take on metaphysics is that of a mathematician not an imaginer of worlds where gods and minds that create worlds. I am disturbed by what passes for metaphysics these days. My models are truly minimal and a third grader could do them with color crayons. 

Hope you guys can adopt me. 

Edited by GrimmsFairyTail

I am a frustrated 45,000 plus post RichardDawkins/ RatSkep philosophy addict. Any argument I attempt on anything ends up in a convoluted self-destroying loop of solipsism and misreadings of Hume and Descartes skepticism. I prefer very simple models with clear and certain propositions first, prior to extension to homologs in the more complex domains.

Hi.