Objectivism Online Forum

Being self-sufficient with a mental illness

Rate this topic

I'm a 24-year-old American, and I'm a little frightened about what's been happening to this country, and what's still to come. The impending bank failures are the scariest. I'm worried about how this will affect my own future survival. I have a bachelor's degree in computer science, and am currently pursuing my master's degree, so at least I have a good education. However, I'm still relatively inexperienced professionally. I've never worked as a long-term employee at a medium-to-large-sized business; I've only ever worked as a temporary worker for small businesses.

My worry is that the collapsing economy will mean I'll be shut out of any career advancement. Another of my disadvantages is that I have Asperger's syndrome, and so my understanding of how the real world works is largely "from a distance" (through the Internet, radio, and TV, and not much actual experience). I still live with my mother, who manages most of the household finances (I pay her some rent and I pay some of the bills). I have an OK job (in the 30K-40K range), but it's not permanent, and in the area where I live (southern California) they say that's not enough money to survive (presumably without borrowing through credit cards and such). I feel like I lack the "instincts" (for lack of a better word) necessary to survive on my own, and I worry that the country's growing financial crisis will eventually put me out on the streets.