Objectivism Online Forum

I don't know what to do in college

Rate this topic

Here's the deal, I'm nineteen and I want to be a musician for a living. The problem is that I don't think I can do it. I have been playing 1 year and 9 months and have achieved respectable skill in the area of chops, but I played with the University Jazz band the other day and got stomped on. I was asked to sight read a walking bass line, and got lost after the first 7 measures. The instructor seemed disappointed with my performance, but didn't say anything. I knew it was coming, and I can read and remember sheet music, but my sight reading has something to be desired. I don't think I can accomplish a living as a musician because I started so late. How am I supposed to compete with people like these:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uOs_kG8a5Eo

I'm a freshman in college, so I still have some time, but I can't think of anything I'd rather do than music. My alternatives are Accounting and Psychology, but even then, those are bearable, not enjoyable. I only want to be a musician.

Any input?

PRACTICE.

I'm sure you expected that response, but it's the best answer. 21 months is not a long time to have been playing an instrument. I played mallet percussion (xylophone/marimba) for 4 years in H.S., and I didn't have a respectable sight reading ability for melody until I was a senior. I could memorize any piece of music quickly, and could sight-read most purely rhythmic music, but I couldn't sight read mallet music real-time. It just took some practice, and I'm certainly no prodigy.

If you can memorize music and play the instrument at a college level, then you just need to pratice sight-reading. If you can hum the frequency corresponding to the note, you can walk into any guitar/piano store, pickup a book of arrangements, and try humming it to yourself.