Objectivism Online Forum

Stage Management: Art or Not

Rate this topic

Drenal

I've just started reading What Art Is: The Esthetic Theory of Ayn Rand and in it Rand is quoted as defining Art as

"a selective re-creation of reality according to an artist's metaphysical value-judgments"

I am a theatre student at texas tech planning on becoming a professional stage manager. And my interpretation of the definition of art and what my duties as a stage manager are lead me to believe that what I do is not art. I have argued with my friends multiple times and even a professor because I refuse to call myself an artist or what I do art.

I was wondering what others thought about this and maybe other jobs in theatre that aren't acting/directing/designing.

These might help

Art is not the means to any didactic end. This is the difference between a work of art and a morality play or a propaganda poster. The greater a work of art, the more profoundly universal its theme. Art is not the means of literal transcription. This is the difference between a work of art and a news story or a photograph.

Ayn Rand, The Psycho-Epistemology of Art, The Romantic Manifesto, 21.

The essay 'What art is' also says that art cannot be combined with utilitarian purpose, the two are mutually exclusive. Art, to be art, must serve no purpose other than contemplation for its own sake.

art cannot be combined with utilitarian purpose, the two are mutually exclusive.

Yes, that is what i'm saying. My job could be described as having a utilitarian purpose, a functional member of the production team. My main goals are organization and efficiency. I'm not asking for affirmation in what I believe, i'm just curious if anyone else has an opinion on the issue.

Isn't Atlas Shrugged propaganda for Objectivism?