Objectivism Online Forum

Environmental science class

Rate this topic

Limelight

Hello everyone. I'm new to this online forum. I just wanted to share a current experience and welcome any feedback or suggestions. Anyways, this summer I decided to take an environmental science class (mostly for some extra credits and to kill some time by learning something). The course was fairly simple and the instructor was very engaging and worked hard w/ the individual student. Everything was going very well for the most part until the last class, where we had to present and discuss an environmental issue. I chose global warming- being somewhat familiar but not enough educated on the topic. I was clear and concise- addressing what global warming is, it's primary causes, effects, and solutions. I further added that certain numbers in my research were inconsistent and had a margin of error due to regional factors, etc. I also added that these numbers were somewhat off & some information has been both dismissed completely or distorted due to large political, personal and business agendas (i.e. Al Gore). These numbers were a source from the studies conducted from public environmentalist groups (the IPCC, the Environmental Protection Agency, the VPIRG, the UNFCCC, etc.). "Global Warming" has basically created a market within itself. I then added that many environmentalists want the government (being the largest emitter of GH gasses and users of energy) to continuously regulate & take action, creating more restraints on honest & hardworking businesses and human rights (which has in my opinion created more pollution, turned great corporations into corrupt government machines, stagnated capitalism, and destroyed our economy). The classroom's reaction was utter silence. One person asked if I was implying global warming didn't exist and it was created as an evil plan, and everyone laughed nodding their head. When I got my final grade, it was dramatically reduced from an A to a B- apparent