Objectivism Online Forum

Arguing about the existence of a god.

Rate this topic

I'm kind of new to how things work on forums, so bear with me if this whole thing seems a bit disjointed.

Okay so I've always had trouble trying to convince people that when they say believing in a specific god or religion your not using reason or logic you are using faith.

Every time though I get the same answer back about how "If we exist then something must have started it all."

I always answer that with something along the lines of "Then wouldn't the next logical question be what created the thing that created us?"

After that point whoever I am arguing the point with just backs up and the whole argument keeps looping.

So what I'm asking is this even worth arguing? Is there anyway to further the argument for either side after that? In terms of logic I can't see any way to disprove them other then asking what created a god but after that it really just turns into a completely unanswerable question to me.

Edited by Dark Sheep

Your reply is perfectly logical. You've killed their argument; and they're speechless :dough:

Not sure what more you're looking for. Could you explain what leaves you unsatisfied about this?

I don't know, I guess people are just stupid and I really wish they would just see that what they are saying isn't within reason but I guess thats asking for too much from some. They are going to believe what they are going to believe I guess. That's kind of depressing to me but oh well.

My only other question would be how to argue people when they bring up Plato's Allegory of the cave as a pretense to argue for the existence of a god or "higher existence". Its really stupid but I can't really argue it.

If your not familiar with the Allegory of the Cave here is a link http://www.wsu.edu:8080/~dee/GREECE/ALLEGORY.HTM