Objectivism Online Forum

Music

Rate this topic

Melodist

I went over to your myspace page and listened to your compositions a few times, enjoying aspects of nearly every one.

I do have some specific feedback for you (although it will be crude, because I am not a musician or composer) but I am curious to know what your background is first. How many years have you been writing music? Are you formally trained (at a university, conservatory, etc.)? How old are you?

Incidentally, welcome to the forum.

Geoffrey, I'm an operatic tenor looking for new composers interested in creating works with objectivist/romantic themes. Have you ever written for the voice before? I would be interested in collaborating with you, if you are interested in collaborating with a classical vocalist.

Thanks.

I majored in music at a university. I'm in my 30s and have been interested in writing music since high school. My first "official" composition, however, was performed live about 7 years ago. I mostly compose for myself.

Hello all,

This is my first post to the form and since I'm a composer who favors melodies, I thought this would be the best place to start. I would appreciate any comments on some music I wrote and posted online at www.myspace.com/dikanogidv Note: most of the music is sampled, not performed.

Thanks.

I'm glad your focus is melodies, because I really believe melodies are the heart of a musical piece, the string that holds everything together. I listened to several of your pieces, and I think you are good. There is something interesting to listen to in every piece I heard. I'm by no means an expert, but I do listen to lots of music of all genres and you know how to piece together music quite effectively. Piano 3 is a zesty, jazzy little piece. Really like it!