Objectivism Online Forum

Threat Of Fines And Jail For The Healthy?

Rate this topic

haystack

I'm a newbie here on the forum and this is my first post. Greetings from Califonia.

My first topic is flu shots. As a current reader of Atlas Shrugged, I see a path that has been traveled before (in AS) in the regulation of flu shots this year in the United States. The elderly, infirmed and those at risk will be eligible, while us healthy producers will be left hung out to dry. I realize the flu is common, but very miserable none-the-less. So, if the at-risk are healthy and the producers get sick, who will do the work? Before vaccination, influenza and other infectious respiratory diseases were the leading cause of death in the United States. Can this happen again?

Now there is a threat of fines and/or jail time for health care workers in at least four states, Massachusetts, New Mexico, Oregon and Wisconson. these are directives issued by various Public Health officials. For example: "It's not rationing," said Massachusetts Public Health Commissioner Christine Ferguson. "It's being rational about how to reduce the number of deaths that could result from a serious flu season." Is this, in deed, rational? I have my doubts.

My employer purchased many injections for us employees through our on-site nurse and doctor. They do this every year as a service to keep us healthy and productive. They purchased these injections in good faith with profits made by the company. Well, The State of California Public Health Dept. has come calling about our injections and will probably confiscate them for "Public" use. I say confiscate because I talked to the nurse about compensation and she laughed at me and said, "doubtful." If I did this it would be called robbery and punishable by law.

Am I seeing a parallel to Hank Reardon in AS? Will it take a trial and a Randian hero to get people to at least care about this? What is the logical conclusion of this altruist behavior?