Objectivism Online Forum

If there were such things as cradle-Objectivists...

Rate this topic

I've been reading here for a short while, having only recently discovered that the way I think has been formally expressed and named. I came across an index of articles that answer FAQs about Objectivism and felt so much relief from reading thoughts that align with my own, with thoughts and convictions I have held, and for which I have been severely and unjustly punished, since I was a child.

Strange, really: my parents are addicts and text-book as far as that goes, and my personality was just the opposite of what might have allowed them to remain comfortably evasive and thereby behaving badly (I fit the INTj profile very well, but have developed much more emotional maturity than is typical for this type- and I'm a creative artist, which is also atypical, but otherwise, with even more caveats, I'm pretty much as described B) ). Can you imagine an eight year old child explaining to her parents why being on welfare is abominable, how being high and drunk every day is a sacrifice of the highest order and utterly immoral, how working for one's own life is ultimately the nature of the human, and on and on? My parents endured this... My school teachers endured my arguing against the validity of so-called 'children's and animals' rights', 'the greater good,' and 'busy work,' amongst other common ideas that I took issue with, and still do.