Objectivism Online Forum

Help with my writing

Rate this topic

iflyboats

I'm attempting to start a blog in defense of Ayn Rand's ideas. The article that I'm currently attempting to write is a rebuttal of another article recently posted on Alternet in which the author ridicules the idea that the rich are "job creators" to justify increasing their taxes. I intend to identify all the author's errors, refute them and explain why the rich ARE job creators and why they should not be taxed.

My first problem is identifying my subject and theme. Should my subject be the article that I'm repudiating, or the notion that the rich are "job creators" itself?

Sorry if this is an amateur question; this is my first attempt at writing.

Edited by iflyboats

I think the article would stand better on its own if the subject focused on the fact that the rich are job creators, rather than just being a rebuttal. Throughout the piece, you can reference the other article - but it should never seem like the purpose of your writing is merely a rebuttal. It shouldn't remain confined to refuting *only* the content of the other article, but should also present the best arguments/counter-arguments you can think of, and present a broader foundation for analyzing such questions. Don't get too bogged down in trying to convince everyone, since that's not going to happen. Just get them interested in alternative ideas that they have never considered.

For good examples of this, I really like the writings of Yaron Brook and Don Watkins for Forbes.

Edited by brian0918

My first problem is identifying my subject and theme. Should my subject be the article that I'm repudiating, or the notion that the rich are "job creators" itself?