Objectivism Online Forum

Thoughts on defending Rand against this attack?

Rate this topic

Hello all. My name is Bobby Dobbs. I am a professional boxing matchmaker. I also consider myself to be an objectivist. Recently in a Women's boxing forum (of all places) a female fighter mentioned she had a degree in architecture.

I wrote back asking her if she had ever read The Fountainhead. Then a person named "Dan" wrote a scathing attack on Ayn Rand. I am tempted to write my own response but, I thought it would be better to bring out the "big guns" and let one of you field this one. I am sure you are much better at shotting down his silly arguments than I would be.

Here is a link to the forum topic and his reposonse:

http://www.voy.com/59609/4411.html

http://www.voy.com/59609/4412.html

Looking forward to seeing this guy dismantled,

Bobby Dobbs

[Moderator: Edited thread title for clarity.]

Edited by BurgessLau

• Replies 104
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

There are no proper arguments there to refute, it's just some unpleasant personal attacks. I would just try to ignore it.

Cheers

Ian

What about his characterization of the book??? Also there are a lot of people in that room hearing the name Ayn Rand for the first time. I would like some true intellectuals to step in and help explain what I really am not able to do properly. I cannot give her the justice she deserves. But people here can. I hope someone will take a few minutes and post something.

Bobby

What about his characterization of the book??? Also there are a lot of people in that room hearing the name Ayn Rand for the first time. I would like some true intellectuals to step in and help explain what I really am not able to do properly. I cannot give her the justice she deserves. But people here can. I hope someone will take a few minutes and post something.