Objectivism Online Forum

Concentration

Rate this topic

Hi.

I have a massive concentration problem - I have plenty of interest - I flit through interesting leads in areas that grab my attention. I am fairly good at expressing myself, and at writing but my abilitiy to read or write, something academic which is not of the highest interest, for a sustained period of time is awful. I am easily distracted and not focused. I wonder if anyone has had any past experience with this and its causes they'd like to share with me? or any lifestyle/dietary/medical changes that might increase my ability to focus.

Thanks.

Charles

nb. I should say for clarification Im a young student, Im not 'a party animal', I dont smoke Cannabis.

I have a massive concentration problem - I have plenty of interest - I flit through interesting leads in areas that grab my attention. I am fairly good at expressing myself, and at writing but my abilitiy to read or write, something academic which is not of the highest interest, for a sustained period of time is awful.

Try to arrange things so that you read and write only what IS of the "highest interest" as much as possible. Motivation is everything.

To add to Betsy's point.

The important thing is to be motivated. You have to be convinced that there is value to what you're doing. Just think of the benefits that will accrue if you study the subject, and think of the benefits you will gain if you gain good studying habits. Contrast it with the down side of having bad studying habits. It's especially important to think of the long range.

Also, try using concentration intervals of a few minutes. I have a technique where I tell myself for the next ten minutes I will concentrate fully on a subject I need to study. I actually look at my watch and give a starting time and ending time.