Objectivism Online Forum

Hello Everyone

Rate this topic

I am a recent graduate of Wright State University, in Dayton, Ohio with a degree in Computer Science. I am 23 years old and my interests include computer programming, philosophy, and tennis. I am currently employed as a Program Analyst for a Dayton area company.

You might say that I had a unique introduction to Objectivism. My grandfather, Mark Scott hosted a talk radio show for many years in the Detroit area. He was a strong believer in Objectivism and taught me much about politics and philosophy. As a result of his influence, I was a firm believer in Objectivism from a very early age. However, I didn't actually read any of Rand's works until I began my college career.

After about two years of college, I felt isolated by the political atmosphere of Wright State. It was at this point that I decided to learn more about the ideas my grandfather taught me. First I read The Fountainhead and absolutely loved it...a few days after finishing it, I started to read Atlas Shrugged. The amazing thing was that, when reading about the character John Galt, I felt like I was reading about myself. I am not trying to say that I match the intelligence of Galt in the book, but the ideas expressed by him, and every one of his interests reflected my own ideas and interests.

Prior to reading this book I knew that I was "for the most part" an Objectivist, but I assumed that I would not agree with *all* of Miss Rand's ideas. Once I read it, I was amazed to discover that the ideas discussed in Atlas Shrugged perfectly reflected my own beliefs.

Sorry for the long introduction...I'm very happy that I finally found some other Objectivists to talk to. :)

Welcome to the forum.

Have you also read some of Ayn Rand's non-fiction?

I hope you find the forum of value.

PS: I have heard your grandfather's show. He was always provocative: made for good radio. I was sorry to hear that he passed away earlier this year.