Objectivism Online Forum

I'm A Newbie

Rate this topic

xavier

Hi everyone,

I'm an Objectivist and I'm new here.

I'm an undergrad engineering student. During the summers I intern at places like nasa and GE. Since I graduate in a few months, I'm at an important time in my life where I have to figure out if I want to go to grad school, and for how long.

I recently started learning how to cook. I like cooking because it's such an obvious way of sustaining my own life. I get to be selective in ingredients and methods. I also like trap shooting and rock climbing because they require both physical and mental effort. I love romanticist music such as Brahms, Rachmoninoff, Tchaikovsky. I play the piano.

I've read almost all of Ayn Rand's books. Right now I'm reading The Early Ayn Rand. It's interesting how Rand's "immature" work is comparable to the best of mainstream authors, and often times better.

Anyways this brief rambling serves as my introduction.

Xavier

Edited by softwareNerd

Welcome, Xavier. Have you checked out Camille Saint-Saëns? He's one of my favorite Romantic composers. I love Danse Macabre. I'd play a musical instrument, (and I've tried, in the past) but for some reason I persist in being stubbornly bad at it. Music is just one of those things that I've never been able to grasp.

I'll have to check those out. I havent found any new music i like for a long time.

What instruments have you tried? I've tried violin, after having played the piano for a few years, but I was terrible at it so I stuck with piano. I think piano has a very easy learning curve compared to other instruments. You can get a lot of variety out of it at an early stage.

Recorder, and guitar, both at my parent's insistance. I think that was at least partially responsible for my inability to love the practice for its own sake.