Objectivism Online Forum

Casual Relationships

Rate this topic

A month or so ago a year-and-a-half long relationship that I had ended. So began the first time that I have been single in college- I am now a sophomore.

Without trying to be arrogant or boastful in any way, I find that I am having little or no trouble meeting attractive women. Girls who are obviously also attracted to me, as well. As I'm sure everyone knows, there is a prevailing attitude about casual encounters on college campuses- that is, it's no big deal.

My question is, is it? Should I, morally, be intimate only with girls with whom I am in a relationship? I feel I may be being overly vague- but I've tried to leave out details that are irrelevant to the topic.

My question is, is it?

Yes it is a big deal.

Should I, morally, be intimate only with girls with whom I am in a relationship?
The answer to that question depends on a very large chain of logic and many abstract ideas. It involves having a fairly complete understanding of human nature, of values and valuing, and the nature of romance. But the short answer is that sexual intimacy absent the values of a real relationship is a big mistake. (Though an all to common one)

I feel I may be being overly vague- but I've tried to leave out details that are irrelevant to the topic.

Then the only kind of answer I can give you is a vague, generalized one, which cannot take into consideration the details of your life. If it helps you, then great!

Mr. Delaney- a good point. I suppose I feel like what I'm doing might be wrong, but then again it might not. I hoped to draw on the experience of like-minded people (objectivists) to help me evaluate the situation, seeing as I have little real experience with this of my own. By no means do I want anyone to "tell me how to live my life," but I don't think there's anything wrong with asking advice.