Objectivism Online Forum

Hey, NeoRand4774

Rate this topic

NeoRand4774,

I've been following your argument with DonGalt and I appreciate the way you express your ideas. You are better than I in that respect, but I'm learning.

Anyway, you mentioned being a philosophy and poli sci major. There is one subject that I have not found any Objectivist material on, and it has been bugging me because I am unsure of some of my conclusions. Like I said, I'm still learning. And, of course, unlearning a bunch of the false ideas that are floating around out there.

So the subject is treason. I was wondering if you had any thoughts on the subject. That is, what would be considered treason by an Objective government.

Wilderness

Wilderness,

For future reference, my name is Steve, so you can refer to me by that name.

Thank you for the complement regarding the expression of my ideas, I appreciate it.

As far as the subject of treason goes, I do not know what exactly would be considered treason by an objective government. You should keep in mind that the majority of writings about government by Objectivists concern the fundamental philosophical principles behind what a proper government should be, not an in-depth formulation of every aspect of the ideal governmental system. As a result, there are a lot of minor details which would need to be worked out if this form of government were to be created. However, I think the purpose of writing the material on government (at least for Rand) was establishing the philosophical foundations required to begin to determine the exact objective laws present in the system.

Based on the principles defining the function of government that Objectivists have written about however, I can speculate that treason would be defined as purposefully causing extreme harm to the institutions of government (military, police, law court system).