Objectivism Online Forum

Hark, the Master Scowler!

Rate this topic

I am the Master Scowler, for even unbidden I scowl dismayingly -and indeed, when focused, with baneful disapprobation! I do not broadly advertise my real name over the internet, no offense. The nick originated with my wife, in a way. She was upset with me one day for being unfriendly at a family function, proclaiming, "You're always scowling at somebody." To which I replied: "I don't scowl all the time... I've been known to smirk on occasion." She was unamused, I find no end to it. Heh heh.

I am an aspiring writer, having completed the second draft of my first novel, and presently working on the final. I am quite passionate about many creative mediums, and consider myself a musician, artist, actor and writer of mediocre-to-mildly-impressive talent. I intend to hone my mildly impressive writing skill to masterful level, however. Potential exists exclusive of present status.

I began reading Rand only a year ago, having devoured The Fountainhead, Atlas Shrugged, The Romantic Manifesto, and a number of her essays. I have also read a little on Dennett, Kant and Neitszche, and on myriad religious topics, including Mormonism, Islam and some little-known ideologies, such as Huna. While I do not consider myself a philosopher, a theologist, or a scholar of any sort, I am confident of my grasp on most of these topics. (After all, one need not know whether Aristotle put on his left or right sandal first to comprehend A = A, eh?)