Objectivism Online Forum

Admitting Your Mistakes

Rate this topic

Hi Everyone!

I am new to this forum and love the kind of posts I am getting to read here, totally inspiring. I have been an avid thinker and researcher in the field of self-improvement and love to motivate anyone who is in need of it.

Anyway, the first discussion I want to start here is about "Admitting Your Mistakes". Mistakes have often been dubbed as the stepping-stones to success. And it's famously said you aren't going anywhere if you aren't making any mistakes. We all make mistakes both in our professional as well as personal life. And admitting them helps us making the right decisions. And you start to find faster solutions, better answers and boost up your creatively.

We all know that admitting our mistakes and taking responsibility for them is a major step towards self-realization. By accepting our mistakes we learn new things and come to know where we have been going wrong. That in turn helps us to stop repeating them.

Now my question is, how many of us are willing to admit our mistakes? How many of us can actually accept each and every mistake we commit and take responsibility for it?

And also do you think sharing your mistakes with others will help you overcome them better?

How many of us can actually accept each and every mistake we commit and take responsibility for it?

I don't know what you mean by "us." Are you taking a poll, or is that a rhetorical question?

Identifying an error is an instance of recognizing a fact of reality. That is a function of rationality, which is a virtue in a selfish person.

And also do you think sharing your mistakes with others will help you overcome them better?

Which "others"? In what circumstances? For what purpose?