Objectivism Online Forum

Michael Huemer's Critique on Objectivism

Rate this topic

Tryptonique

http://www.lddebate.org/?go=essays&essay=heumer-rand

I'm posing this and freely admitting that I am just getting into O-ism. I have only read A.S, The Fountainhead, The Anthem, and I am just getting started on OPAR and the Virtue of Selfishness.

I was wondering what some responses to Huemer's attacks would be? Especially his assertion that ethics/etc are a priori?

(based on the justification he gives)

I hope I'm not posting something that has been posted a bunch of other places. Forgive me if this is a repeat.

Thank you,

-E.H.S

You know, some of the parts of that essay puzzled me the last time I read them, which was probably about four years ago. (I don't know if they would now.) The part on ethics as a priori, though, is pretty bad. From what I've heard of him, Huemer should know better than to make an argument like that. He talks as though the choice to live is no different in principle than the choice to go to the movies. Could anything be more obviously wrong?

Though, skimming through the rest of it, I suspect that his knowledge of Objectivism is far slimmer than I had suspected. He writes: "If egoism is self-evident, that would be a reason for egoists' not offering any argument in favor of it... I am not saying an Objectivist egoist would appeal to self-evidence; I am just considering the possibility." If he knew anything substantial about Objectivism, he'd know that no Objectivist considers egoism to be self-evident.

Wow... Incidentally, what's his moral theory? I'll translate for you.