Objectivism Online Forum

Another Hello from Israel

Rate this topic

Hi all,

My name is Ori, I am 24 and live in Israel.

I am a freshman at Ben Gurion University, majoring in Computer Science.

In November, shortly after the school year had started, I complained to a friend of mine about the lack of purpose in my life, about my intellectual decay (I had just quit my programming job after 3 years, during which I did nothing but work work and buying vinyl records -- no reading, no life, no fun, nothing), any my general dissatisfaction with... well, everything.

He handed me a copy of The Virtue of Selfishness and told me "read this, it's killer."

So I did, and my life hasn't been the same since. During the fall semester, I read VOS, OPAR, ITOE, C the UI, PWNI. I was fascinated, and as a result I failed my differential calculus course (but who cares).

My fascination with Objectivism probably stems from the fact that I have always had what is called "sense of life."

I always knew it was wrong that I HAD to pay taxes (and my co-workers can attest to my periodic (monthly) outbursts of rage when I got my paycheck and saw 50% go to "society"). I always knew it was WRONG to FORCE ME to serve in the military.

But when confronted with questions like "why do you think it's wrong to make you pay taxes?" all I could do was mutter some subjective nonsense in response.

I now KNOW why all the above (and more) are wrong.

AR's books were like a breath of fresh air to me. Her words were so refreshing,

so eloquent, the books so well written, I was in complete awe, paragraph after paragraph.

I read a post here regarding Michael Huemer's refutation of Objectivism.

I too have read his article, and must admit that I am far too inexperienced to point out any/all logical fallacies in his essay.

I am looking forward to user DPW's refutation of Huemer's so-called refutation, because I want and NEED my views to have a strong philosophical base.