Objectivism Online Forum

Need help with Fellowship/Scholarship Paper

Rate this topic

Smith-Hughes

hello all,

I am a med student. Actually a poor med student. I have found that certain companies will award scholarship $ for papers written on a topic of their choice. (ARI does this also) I am currently researching for a fellowship paper that is causing me some trouble. I am sort of new to Objectivism, but have embraced every bit that I have learned. I want to inject Objectivism into this paper but am having trouble. Let me give you the topic and then you can help me !!

The Topic:

"The great aim of the struggle for liberty has been equality before the law"

quote by F.A. Hayek, Nobel Laureate in Economics

I am supposed to Postulate on this in a paper no longer that 3000 words.

I really would appreciate any help on the objectivist thought to this subject !!

Thanks

Sterling Smith

[email protected]

sterling0601.blogspot.com

Off the top of my, I would recommend picking up a copy of Capitalism: The Unknown Ideal. There are three essays in there that I think could provide you with a little guidance, "What is Capitalism", "Man's Rights", and "The Nature of Government". The last two are also in The Virtue of Selfishness.

The Topic:

I would say that the great aim of the struggle for liberty -- as manifested in the American revolution -- is the recognition and protection of individual rights. Equality before the law is only one aspect of achieving that recognition and protection, but it is not an end in itself.

If the law holds everyone to be equally rightless creatures, then that equality is the enemy of liberty, not its guarantor. The law in a dictatorship like the Soviet Union becomes an instrument of terror, even if it is applied equally. Equality before the law is of value if and only if the laws are just, i.e. based on the protection of individual rights.

I agree with Bryan's reading recommendations.

Smith-Hughes: