Objectivism Online Forum

Personal Introduction

Rate this topic

Guest kgvl

Hi all ... I have been monitoring your website for a brief time now. The discussions are generally quite interesting to follow. Some of you seem quite knowledgable of Objectivist philosophy.

I have admired Rand's Fountainhead movie since I was a child [nearly 50 yrs ago]. Unfortunately, I was brought up in the conflicts of religion, altruism, self-sacfirce, and the gnawing perception that 'something is really wrong with all this stuff they're feeding me'.

After experiencing the full wrath of betrayals in the business world by people whom I thought were friends and trustworthy, I finally 'walked away' for awhile to sort it all out --- I immersed myself the last 4 years in philosophy from Socrates/Plato to Rand/Nozick/Nagle. I'm no expert yet, but the Fountainhead book was much better than the movie !! ... and when I read Atlas Shrugged, I saw so much of myself in Dagny Taggart and Hank Reardon that it made me wince with disgust of what I had been ... and regret for not figuring it out sooner. I have read the Fountainhead word-for-word and cover-to-cover 3 times, and Atlas Shrugged 4 times. Once I start, I go straight for several days til I'm done --- they're the best catharsis ever for what has ailed me ! I will read Atlas Shrugged late this summer again ... with pen in hand. I suspect it will be the last time for awhile ... I am now prepared to fully analyze it.