Objectivism Online Forum

My First Sf Novelette

Rate this topic

Myself

I am an aspiring writer, and have recently finished my first relatively long piece of writing - a novellete entitled Mirage. As of now, my novelette is 21,500 words long and about 103 pages. It is science fiction in theme and so far, I have submitted it to two magazines (F&SF and Analog) only to have it rejected by both. Because editors no longer have time to write meaningful rejection slips nowadays, I haven't been getting much feedback on how to make my stories better. Right now I'm 17 and I'm a senior in high school - I want to be a writer but I know that I will have to educate myself mostly (although The Art of Fiction has been a tremendous help). Since I value the opinions of many members of this forum I was wondering whether anyone could take the time to read my novelette and give me the roughest, most critical appraisal you can - I want brutal honesty (I promise I won't be offended). If anyone is interested in reading my work I can PM you a PDF version of my story as per request. The only other request I have, is that if I PM you my work, that you eventually give me some sort of criticism. Thank you in advance and I deeply appreciate those who take time to give me a response.

Edited by Myself

I tried my hand at writing SF a (very) long time ago and submitted a few stories to Isaac Asimov's SF Mag, when George Scithers was the editor. I actually received a specific typewritten postcard rejecting the first submission, but only printed standard rejection slips after that.