Objectivism Online Forum

S0urce

Rate this topic

Hi all.

I must have missed this section of the forum when I first came here and I never properly introduced myself. Recently there was some confusion in the discussion about where I live, so I found it a good time to finally let you know who I am.

As my sig says, I'm Nikola Novak. I own OneRight.Org, but I'm not going to talk about it here because some here have probably already heard of it. I'm from Croatia and I'm a college student. I'm studying Electric Engineering and Computing (that's the name of the college), where I will narrow that down to Computing only at year 3 of my studies (that's when I can choose what in particular I am going to study).

Fred Weiss asked me:

Out of curiosity, how did you discover Ayn Rand?

The short answer is: some guy told me about her works and philosophy over the internet.

The long answer follows:

That "some guy" one day posted a link to a Yahoo! atheism group (actually it was still clubs back then), and it was a link to his site. I was a member and I ran into his post and I got intrigued. The site had some beautiful forums and what also looked like good thread topics, and since I can't resist a good discussion, I joined. Incidentally, this "some guy" also claimed to be an Illuminati light bringer and the site was used to recruit people into this secret society he liked to call "The Illuminati Order." He claimed that the philosophy of this order was Objectivism and that the Objectivist philosophy was Ayn Rand's, but that she based that philosophy on the philosophies of the thinkers of the Illuminati Order, such as the founding fathers and other philosophers (the first that come to mind are Nietzsche and Adam Smith). Ayn Rand herself, he claimed, wasn't the member of this order and had denied the offered membership on several occasions.