Objectivism Online Forum

A New Shutterbug

Rate this topic

That's me.

Why this is noteworthy is that it is at the tender age of 63. What that is all about is that, given my physical condition, only the bareest minimum of attempts were made to train me in visual matters. Yet it was all around them. As early as age 4 I had a strong interest in flying things. At age 7 I found the motiviation to read, (did you really think that Dick and Jane or New Friends and Neighbors would cut it for me? No shot: it was COLLIERS' and LIFE magazines' articles on space travel that were the prime movers here). when in 1954, my class became aware of the Crayola 64 color set, I HAD to have it and I used to be able to draw pretty well. But then the concept "low vision" had not really come into its own and below a certain level, such persons were lumped in with "blind". Consequently I just wasn't trained in matters visual and am for the most part self-taught. I never regarded that as any great shakes since I was more interested in the things it got for me. It was only later that I realized the size of what I had done, compensating for a 90+% deficit to a point that I was in the middle level of reading skill in my Freshman year as measured by the Science Research Associates' reading skills program. Also I became a fair sandlot ballplayer, specifically football and basketball and a mediocre hitter in baseball with a strong and accurate throwing arm; if I could see it, I could hit it, all of which I enjoyed tremendously. In short, I became moderately competitive with full-sighted persons with my mental skills often giving me an edge or making me of greater usefulness. I was also a voracious reader. This exacted a price. having accpmplished this, I became willfull and headstrong and very intolerant of disrespect.