Objectivism Online Forum

Hello Forum

Rate this topic

Hi gang. I've been lurking for a couple of weeks, and I like what I see.

I'm a doctoral student at Georgia Tech. My field is operations research. If you've never heard of OR, just think "math that Dagny Taggart would use" -- for example, to determine a train schedule which satisfies customer demand at minimum cost. Operational problems can get really complex, and many billions of dollars are riding on methods for the solution of various types of problems.

I finished an undergraduate degree in mathematics from Duke last year. It was at Duke that I first heard about Objectivism. The first couple of years I was kind of gradually coming around to it, and then 9/11/01 really woke me up: ideas matter; bad ideas kill. From then on I was involved with Duke Objectivists (ably led by Alex Epstein, who you may recognize as a writer for ARI and TIA).

Interests of mine relevant to this group include:

• (Re-)starting an Objectivist club here at Georgia Tech. (It seems that a previous club ran out of steam around 1998.)
  • Applying Objectivism to mathematics and (partly by extension) to theoretical computer science.

I'm also a classical pianist, and I'd love to talk about music.

Hi Fred! Welcome to the board.