Objectivism Online Forum

A Boy And His Bike

Rate this topic

My wife and I have been planning a motorcycle trip now for a couple of months. Now that we are two weeks away, I thought I might share some of the story so far.

When I started riding again last summer, I dove into all sorts of information about riding, motorcycles, where to ride, etc. I have some decent roads to ride around here. It's nothing for us to hop on the bike and drive 50 or 100 miles to go eat lunch in Moyock, NC or Nags Head, NC. These are fun afternoon or day trips, but like anything they can become redundant. A friend of mine recently drove to Philly with a group of his friends. Their purpose? A cheesesteak. They ate lunch then rode back to Virginia. This exemplifies the idea that it's not about the destination, it's about the journey. Cliche perhaps, but so true.

I'm fortunate to live on the east coast in that I'm not very far (around 525 miles) from one of the best motorcycle roads in the country. Coursing through the Great Smoky Mountains in western North Carolina and eastern Tennessee is US 129. There is a particular 11 mile stretch of road on 129 affectionately known as "The Tail of the Dragon". Quite an omninous name though it is well earned from what I understand. The Dragon boasts 318 curves in it's 11 miles. 318 glorious, fun-filled "twisties" as motorcyclists call them.