Objectivism Online Forum

Who I Am (or About Me)

Rate this topic

Though I am very new to Objectivism I have had beliefs that at least similar to that of Objectivism for quite some time now. Very little if anything about my beliefs have changed since I have become an Objectivist, since er litl if anything needed to. For example, I decided to be an atheist at the age of ten since I saw gods, mysticism and the spiritual to be impossibilities. I also believed in rationality/reason a the same age, though of course wasn't all that good at it due to my mind having not fully developed since I was so young. But least I tried, which is more than I can say for a lot of people I know. I hate to admit it but when I first heard about Objectivism from Prometheus98876 I hated it. But that was because I misunderstood it, mainly on what the six points of Objectivism meant, especially the one about art. But as Prometheus98876 told me more about Objectivism I came to understand what th points actually meant and I agreed with it and declared myself an Objectivist. To tell the truth though, I never misunderstood the one about the metaphysics. I always understood and agreed with it. It in fact is my favourite point is the metaphysics one since it deals with the nature of existence and facts, which is why the Wizards Ninth Rule from Sword of Truth (my favourite book series) is my favourite rule - it after all does the same thing. In fact I've been reading Sword of Truth and agreeing with its philosophies long before I knew of Objectivism. And although I agree with Ayn Rand's messages in her books, I don't like her style (she too often takes too long to say things).

Now for my personal interests. I like reading, writing, using computers, music (mainly rock music) and thinking.

My dislikes include lack of rational thinking, stupidity, modern political systems, taxes and most modern laws (they are not rational or realistic). But most of all I hate when people act in a contradictory way.