Objectivism Online Forum

SAVING YOUR CHILD IN A DROWNING TRAIN: MORAL OR ALTRUISTIC?

Rate this topic

Seattle_Kyle

Hello Rational Thinkers,

I am relatively new to Objectivism and am extremely intrigued by some of the moral ideas Rand had. One of the ways I've grown in understanding is by finding interesting stories or topics and challenging AI chatbots on what Rand would have considered moral or immoral. While reading "Emotional Intelligence" by Daniel Goleman, I couldn't get through the first page without him mentioning a story that he considered an "act of parental heroism [that] testifies to the role of altruistic love". Clearly from an objectivist viewpoint, an act that is both heroic and altruistic is a contradiction in terms. So, I took to the Bing AI chatbot to get its opinion on how Rand would have viewed the act. See below for the dialogue. Let me know what you think, and if I am misinterpreting any aspect of the philosophy. 

ME: How would Ayn Rand analyze the following story? Would she conclude that the parents acted altruistically and irrationally, or would she disagree? 

“Ponder the last moments of Gary and Mary Jane Chauncey, a couple completely devoted to their eleven-year-old daughter Andrea, who was confined to a wheelchair by cerebral palsy. The Chauncey family were passengers on an Amtrak train that crashed into a river after a barge hit and weakened a railroad bridge in Louisiana’s bayou country. Thinking first of their daughter, the couple tried their best to save Andrea as water rushed into the sinking train; somehow they managed to push Andrea through a window to rescuers. Then, as the car sank beneath the water, they perished.