Objectivism Online Forum

I Am A New Age Piano Composer (A Revelation)

Rate this topic

nakulanb

I have had the recent revelation that I am a New Age Artist.  The genre is known for it's tranquil sounds and peaceful feelings.   I've narrowed down which old works I want to keep, and found a vision for the future. I am more aware of my technical ability and boundaries than ever, and am composing at that level.  My technical abilities aren't for those that like to be dazzled by fast scales, but if you enjoy a strong melodic hook, please do listen.  I felt the need to create a new thread on this similar topic because I am having a fresh start to my musical journey.  You can listen to my youtube channel if you'd like, it's linked below.

Thank you,

Nakulan

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyUv3y1LKuZfwbOgBiV30dA/videos

Edited by nakulanb

I think your music is too melodic for such a slow bpm. Most people will have trouble retaining the melody over such a long period of time. Consider how Enya has great new age melodies and uses a much faster bpm to make them stick in the listener's mind.

I listened to your songs at 2X speed and some of the melodies were catchy.

55 minutes ago, StrictlyLogical said:

Suzanne Ciani is an accomplished new age artist... who is quite a piano composer as well.

Interestingly though... "new age" is not so new anymore...

Hope she inspires!

Very nice indeed, thanks for sharing!

1 hour ago, MisterSwig said:

I think your music is too melodic for such a slow bpm. Most people will have trouble retaining the melody over such a long period of time. Consider how Enya has great new age melodies and uses a much faster bpm to make them stick in the listener's mind.

I listened to your songs at 2X speed and some of the melodies were catchy.

That's an interesting take.  I do like playing rather slow so it becomes more meditative, though, but I appreciate your comments.

The melodies flow well, but the accompaniment becomes 'predictable'.