Objectivism Online Forum

Help Finding Physics and Chemistry Books

Rate this topic

redfarmer

It has been several years since I was in school and I'm currently studying for my GED. I'm finding that two areas I'm having trouble in are Chemistry and Physics. The reason why I think I'm having so much trouble is that I was never taught to concretize principles in school. This isn't as much of a problem in Biology and Earth Sciences as they are more concrete subjects whereas Chemistry and Physics are more abstract. I remember being overwhelmed in my Chemistry and Physics classes by teachers throwing mathmatical formulas at us with little or no explanation of the theory behind them.

My question is does anyone know of any good books I could pick up which would help me concretize the principles of Physics and Chemistry? Right now, I need as much help as I can get.

(On a side note, I wonder if this is the same reason I had trouble with Math in school...)

My question is does anyone know of any good books I could pick up which would help me concretize the principles of Physics and Chemistry? Right now, I need as much help as I can get.

Have you looked at the three volume set, The Feynman Lectures on Physics? If you can follow it along it might be what you want.