Objectivism Online Forum

I'm new here and need advice

Rate this topic

Are there exercises that help you care less what others think? I am often trapped in arguments with idiots and end up giving them power they don't deserve just by replying to them. It's just so annoying, when complete morons think they are better than me and walk away thinking they've convinced the world that 2+2=5.

I'm not good at debating so I probably should not try to, but the deeper undercurrent is that, like Howard Roark, I simply should not CARE.

Having grown up being taught by my parents that other people's opinions were the most important thing in the world, I'm concerned. I'm now a parent myself and while I'd love to raise my child as an Objectivist, I feel that I need to become stronger or I will not be able to teach by example. I need to fight my conditioning. I'm here to learn and if anyone has any tips that would be great.

-PKD

Are there exercises that help you care less what others think? I am often trapped in arguments with idiots and end up giving them power they don't deserve just by replying to them. It's just so annoying, when complete morons think they are better than me and walk away thinking they've convinced the world that 2+2=5.

I'm not good at debating so I probably should not try to, but the deeper undercurrent is that, like Howard Roark, I simply should not CARE.

Having grown up being taught by my parents that other people's opinions were the most important thing in the world, I'm concerned. I'm now a parent myself and while I'd love to raise my child as an Objectivist, I feel that I need to become stronger or I will not be able to teach by example. I need to fight my conditioning. I'm here to learn and if anyone has any tips that would be great.

-PKD