Objectivism Online Forum

What to tell religious parents

Rate this topic

John

As far as my mom goes I have to tell her that I don't believe in god because I am agreeing with her by not only by my silence but when I go to church whenever I go home. The hardest part about this is it's not just my parents but my grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, brother, sister, and the priest that know about it. I don't think a simple "I don't agree with you" will go very well but it is all I can say since reason wont work. Before I graduated High School I told her that my goal in life was to be happy and she told me that it does always work that way (this was before I even knew about objectivism). Since then I explained to her why sacrafice to others is not needed to be happy and she said that god wants us to make sacrafices. For now I tell her that I'm trying to find the truth in it. Since she believes god is the truth she understands and it has worked so far. Is it right to lie to my family and go to church with them because I don't want them to hate me? I don't go home very much and go to church even less..... I've just realized I go for the worst reason: because I don't want to hurt their feelings. I can't allow their feelings to make decisions for me and I have to tell them that too. Actually thats probably the only thing they will understand since you are supposted to accept god on your own without being forced. I'm going to go think about this more.

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic